You face losing your license in MA from a NH DUI
If you have been charged with a DWI in New Hampshire (which is commonly referred to as OUI/ Operating under the influence in Massachusetts), yet you have a driver's license from Massachusetts, you must be aware of what the Massachusetts RMV will do to your license if you are convicted.
If you lose your license in New Hampshire for DWI or for the implied consent statute (refusing the breath test or testing above the legal limit), the New Hampshire DMV will notify the Massachusetts RMV. Massachusetts will then typically take your driver's license. The length of license loss may be different than what New Hampshire does. Further, issues of a hardship license may come into play. (New Hampshire does not have any Cinderella/hardship license, but under certain conditions you can get one in Massachusetts). It is important to know these consequences. Attorney Hynes helps defend people charged with DWI in both New Hampshire, and Massachusetts, and can help advise you of all the penalties, and represent you at an RMV hearing in MA if needed.
You face additional penalties in MA if you have a prior conviction.
New Hampshire has a 10 year lookback period for previous offenses. Massachusetts has a lifetime lookback period. Meaning if you had a DWI 20 years ago, NH will charge you with a first offense, but if you are convicted, MA will give you harsh second offense penalties. The same goes for other subsequent offenses (third, fourth, etc.). Don't fall into a trap of getting a first offense license loss in NH only to have Massachusetts give a lifetime loss of license. Once you plead guilty too late, there is usually nothing a lawyer can do for you. MA has a bunch of complicated rules as to how they treat subsequent offenses. Our lawyers practice in Massachusetts and New Hampshire. Give us a call to discuss how we can get you back on the road as soon as possible.