What Is New Hampshire’s IDCMP?
IDCMP stands for Impaired Driver Care Management Program. Due to recent changes in New Hampshire’s drunk driving statutes, a person who is convicted of driving while intoxicated is now required to participate and attend a state approved IDCMP program. First, the participant will be screened and evaluated to determine if an alcohol abuse disorder exists. He or she will then be required to participate in treatment programs and recovery support services. Furthermore, the defendant must participate in a minimum of 20 hours of alcohol education and awareness classes; however, the number could be depending upon the recommendations of the IDCM program director.
First Offense Requirements
A New Hampshire motorist convicted of a DWI charge must complete the intake process and initial screening at an IDCMP program that has been approved by the state within 14 days of their original conviction date in order to remain eligible to have their license revocation requirements reduced in the future.
If the screening results are negative, then the convicted motorist will either be required to finish a Weekend Impaired Driver Education Program (WIDEP) or an Impaired Driver Education Program (IDEP). However, if the screening results are positive, then the next step will be for him or her to complete a comprehensive substance abuse disorder evaluation within 30 days.
For positive evaluations, the IDCMP creates services plans for their clients, which frequently include treatment, recovery support services, and education. If a defendant fails to comply with any of the IDCMP’s requirements, then they will become ineligible to have their driver’s license restored sooner and cannot have it reinstated until they complete the IDCMP’s recommended treatment program.
Second, Aggravated, and Subsequent Offenses
When a defendant has been convicted of a second, aggravated, or subsequent offense within the preceding decade, they will automatically receive mandatory minimum 5 day sentence in their county’s House of Corrections. This sentence is designed to encourage defendants to participate in the IDCMP program, and if they fail to comply, the NH court system retains the right to impose this sentence.
A defendant is required to schedule a comprehensive alcohol and substance use disorder evaluation within 30 days of their conviction date, and the evaluation must be completed within 60 days from the date they are released from the House of Corrections. A service plan will be created for all defendants with second, aggravated, and subsequent DWI offenses.
If a defendant fails to comply with any of the aforementioned requirements, then they must serve the full license revocation period.
Hire a New Hampshire DWI Lawyer Today
If you’re reading over these requirements and think that participating in this program doesn’t sound too bad, think again. Participating in an IDCMP program is only one element of what you will be required to do in order to have your driver’s license reinstated. There are also expensive fees associated with these programs, and in some cases, having a DWI on your record can affect your ability to find gainful employment.
The best method to avoid these requirements is to avoid a DWI conviction in the first place, and to do this, you are going to need to have an experienced and skilled NH DWI attorney representing you in a court of law. This is where our lawyers can step in to offer their assistance. Contact our law firm today to set up a free consultation regarding your case.