Nashua, New Hampshire & DWI Laws – What You Need to Know
There is no doubt about it: Nashua, New Hampshire is a beautiful town. Its close proximity to the liveliness of Boston, stunning mountains, and the ever enjoyable seacoast, in addition to its quaint, quiet atmosphere, has led this small town to twice be voted the best place to live in America. The name itself, a Penacook word, means “beautiful stream with a pebbly bottom”. Despite its many attractions and accolades, Nashua does have its hidden dark side.
Nashua DWI Accidents and Fatalities
Unfortunately, Nashua has, in recent years, seen its fair share of DWI related motor vehicle accidents, and even fatalies. Similar to most other places in the state, the DWI accidents tend to occur in higher numbers on holidays and on the weekends. Each year, an average of 100 New Hampshire residents are killed in otherwise preventable DWI automobile accidents. According to the most recent statistics, approximately 20% of all crime that occurs in Nashua is comprised of DWI related cases, following closely by drug related offenses.
Last year, the Commonwealth of New Hampshire conducted a comprehensive overhaul of its driving while intoxicated state statutes. The new statutes cover the barring of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of either alcohol or drugs, which includes chemicals, over the counter drugs, and prescription drugs. In Nashua, as in the rest of the state, a DWI is classified as a major motor vehicle offense, and a conviction for this crime is accompanied by severe sanctions for the offender.
The Punishment for a First Time DWI Offense
In the state of New Hampshire, a first time DWI offense is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, and a conviction carries a minimum monetary fine of $500.00, which does not include court fees. A convicted offender will be required to submit to multiple alcohol and drug abuse screenings and will be referred to the care of an Impaired Driver Care Management Program before their driving privileges will be reinstated. The suspension of the offender’s driving privileges can range anywhere from 9 months to upwards of 2 years. If an offender immediately complies with the requirements of the IDCMP program, then the period of their license suspension may be shortened. Subsequent DWI offenses will result in imprisonment, higher monetary fines, longer suspension periods (even permanent revocation), and other penalties. If, as a result of your driving while intoxicated, another person is seriously harmed or killed, your DWI charge will be classified as a felony and will negatively impact your life in the same manner any other felony conviction (e.g. murder, robbery, sexual crimes, etc.) would.
Here Is Why You Need to Hire an Experienced NH DWI Lawyer
If you are arrested for a DWI in Nashua, then you will need to retain the services of a professional and experienced NH DWI attorney to handle your case. What you must realize is that, even though New Hampshire’s DWI penalties are severe, your DWI lawyer can assist you in beating the charges or to work out a deal that results in less severe penalties. Similar to other NH traffic violations, New Hampshire DMV employs a point system to evaluate each person’s DWI case. A DWI conviction will place 6 points on your driving record, and it can result in an additional period of suspension of your driving privileges, depending upon your driving history prior to your DWI conviction.
Only an experienced DWI lawyer in Nashua will be intimately familiar with the ins and outs NH DWI law. At our firm, each of our attorneys have considerable experience against DWI charges. We are ready and willing to tackle even the most difficult cases, and regardless of the charges that have been brought against you, we pledge to work diligently to create the defense available.
If you are facing a DWI charge in Nashua, or elsewhere in the state of New Hampshire, please contact our law offices today. We are here to assist you and your loved ones during this difficult period of time.