How Likely Is It That I Can Have My DWI Charges Reduced?
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges are quite serious, and a conviction for this offense is accompanied by serious consequences that can affect you for years to come. For this reason, most defendants seek to have their DWI charges dismissed altogether, or through plea bargaining, have their charges reduced to less serious offenses. In the state of New Hampshire, the only method of having the charges you face reduced is for the prosecutor to amend the charges themselves.
How can my DWI charge be reduced?
The only method of having your DWI charge reduced is for the prosecuting attorney to drop the DWI charges against you and to charge you with a new, lesser offense. This must be completed before your case appears before the judge in a court of law. Depending upon the specific circumstances surrounding your case, your NH DWI lawyer may determine that plea bargaining offers a better option for you, and they will approach the prosecutor about negotiating a deal.
Your DWI lawyer will decide to open plea bargain negotiations if he or she believes that the state of New Hampshire does not possess enough evidence against you for the DWI charge or if they believe that the evidence the state has is questionable. Rather than opting to have the case dismissed, most prosecutors would prefer to charge a defendant with a lesser offense. As a component of the plea bargain, you might be required to pay specific monetary fees, perform community service, or complete an alcohol education program.
The benefits of having your DWI charge reduced…
In the state of New Hampshire, DWI charges are taken seriously. The serious consequences that accompany a conviction will not only affect you immediately, they will also affect your future. Having a DWI conviction on your criminal record can make certain aspects of your life exceedingly difficult. For example, if your current position requires you to drive, this type of conviction could cause you to lose your job and make it difficult to find gainful employment in the future.
Moreover, having a DWI conviction on your record will make it difficult for you to purchase car insurance that you can afford or to purchase it at all. It is not uncommon for a person convicted of a DWI to see their monthly insurance premiums double or triple. The immediate penalties you face for a DWI conviction include having your driver’s license suspended, paying steep fines, and potential jail sentences.
The differences between reckless driving & DWI
DWI is a criminal offense. Reckless driving is not. DWI carries SR22 insurance, minimum 90 day loss of license, alcohol classes, and possibly an interlock device. Reckless driving does not have any of those, but does have a 60 day loss of license.
Our NH DUI Lawyers have had many cases reduced to reckless driving. The stronger the defense, the better the outcome. It is our lawyers job to give you the best defense possible.